Tabula

0_2

Exbition of Artem Fialtov and Vladimir Chernyshev – “Tabula” at Artwin Gallery

Man has always sought to preserve and systematize his knowledge of the surrounding environment and of himself. This has been true not only of simple laymen or scientists, but also of alchemists, who often strove to explain natural events through various mystical practices, experiments, and protoscientific research.
In studying animate and inanimate nature, natural philosophers tried to lay bare certain properties of plants, natural substances, and objects, to classify and establish connections between them. Through this practice they were able to establish entire archives, which were necessary for studying and cataloguing the knowledge they had acquired.
As man’s reflection on nature, traditional culture is in some sense an act of natural philosophy. It was typical of man to bestow meaning on natural events, to imitate them or come into conflict with them. This fruitful interplay was the soil for the development of all manner of traditions, customs, and superstitions. Man sifted his knowledge as if through a sieve, separating the universal from the arbitrary and superficial and passing on the results of his observations to the next generation.

0_11_800
0_8_800
0_7_800
0_1_3_800
0_3_800
0_11_8000_8_8000_7_8000_1_3_8000_3_800

Tabula, in a broad sense, is the structure that reveals the universal rules and patterns used by thinkers, philosophers, and alchemists to express the results of their research. By their nature, objects and phenomena possess a universal “affinity” — they are connected to each other on the most minute level and it is sometimes difficult to immediately distinguish whether nature bears certain meanings on its own or man of his own free will attributes nonexistent qualities to nature. These processes are born, change, and spill one into the other, but they continue to bear the universal meanings that reveal human culture.

0_5_800
0_12_800
0_11_12_800
0_9_800
0_4_800
0_10_800
0_5_8000_12_8000_11_12_8000_9_8000_4_8000_10_800

Tabula

0_2

Совместная выставка Артема Филатова и Владимира Чернышева – “Tabula” в Artwin Gallery

Человек всегда стремился сохранить и систематизировать знания об окружающей природе и о самом себе. Это касалось не только простых обывателей или ученых, но и алхимиков, стремившихся зачастую объяснять природные явления с помощью различных мистических практик, экспериментов и протонаучных исследований.
Изучая живую и неживую природу, натурфилософы пытались раскрыть те или иные свойства растений, природных веществ и предметов, классифицировать и установить связь между ними. Такая практика позволяла натурфилософам формировать целые архивы, необходимые для исследований и каталогизации полученных знаний.

Традиционная культура как рефлексия человека по отношению к природе является в каком-то смысле натурфилософским актом. Человеку было свойственно наделять явления природы смыслами, подражать ей или вступать с ней в конфликт. Это плодотворное взаимодействие явилось почвой для развития всякого рода традиций, обычаев и поверий. Как через сито человек просеивал эти знания, отделяя универсальное от случайного и кажущегося, и передавал результаты своих наблюдений следующему поколению.

0_11_800
0_8_800
0_7_800
0_1_3_800
0_3_800
0_11_8000_8_8000_7_8000_1_3_8000_3_800

Tabula, в широком смысле, – это структура, раскрывающая универсальные правила и закономерности, использовавшаяся мыслителями, философами, алхимиками для выражения результата своих исследований. По своей природе предметы или явления обладают универсальной «симпатией» – они связанны друг с другом на тончайшем уровне и иногда трудно сразу разобраться: несет ли природа сама по себе определенные смыслы, или человек по своей воле наделяет природу несуществующими качествами. Эти процессы рождаются, изменяются и перетекают друг в друга, но продолжают нести универсальные смыслы, раскрывающие человеческую культуру.

0_5_800
0_12_800
0_11_12_800
0_9_800
0_4_800
0_10_800
0_5_8000_12_8000_11_12_8000_9_8000_4_8000_10_800

Выставка проходила с 12 декабря по 10 февраля 2016 года в Artwin Gallery (Москва)