Empty home

Пустой дом_5“Empty house” (installation, 2014)
Artem Filatov, Vova Chernyshev
IV Moscow Biennial for Young Art, Museum of Moscow

The value placed by most Russians on wooden architecture has seen a radical decline. In the historic centers of towns and cities, wood has already given away to multi-storey concrete and glass buildings, as well as people move away from their native villages, leaving their houses. The old way of life and sensibility has become an ethnographic curiosity and is quickly fading into oblivion. Wood – the most natural of materials – consciously or unconsciously is rendering itself back to nature, to its original chaos. A wooden house is only part of vanishing world, now almost forgotten, of which only traces remain – artifacts, secrets and treasures that hardly anyone needs. 
This work, a wooden structure in the museum space, is constructed out of specially collected materials that include genuine fragments of old houses that have been destroyed and abandoned.  It therefore becomes a representation of all wooden structures and their connections to the real world. To one person a wooden building is an architectural monument, to another it is a historical artifact, while someone else sees it as a paradigm of harmony and craftsmanship, and yet another enjoys contemplating the process of resigned dilapidation and decay – an exquisite melancholy based on transience and imperfection that in Japan is characterized by the notion “wabi-sabi”.

The materials for the house were collected in Nizhegorodskaja region – in villages Chud, Martushiha, Monakovo, Istomino and Mogilitsi, as well as in the city of Nizhny Novgorod. Building the house it was necessary for us to keep the surface, made of different wooden logs, natural, matching the color and texture.
You can visit the exhibition till 10 August at Museum of Moscow (Zubovdki bulevard 10)


We want to thank all, who helped us to build this house: curator of IV Moscow Biennial for Young Art – David Elliott, executive director of NCCA – Michael Midlin, executive director of Nizhny Novgorod NCCA – Anna Gor, Natalia Gerasina, Olga Ladutenko, Nikolai Molok, Alexander Kuritsin, Olesia Gritsenko, Masha Molianova, Sasha and Nazar, and Dima Baranov and Faina Ynusova.

Пустой дом

Пустой дом_5“Пустой дом” (инсталляция, 2014)
Артем Филатов, Владимир Чернышев
IV Московская биеннале молодого искусства, Музей Москвы

Деревянная архитектура в России все больше теряет свою ценность в глазах подавляющего большинства жителей. Исторические центры городов меняют деревянный облик на бетонно-стеклянно-многоэтажный, люди покидают деревни, бросая свои дома. Традиционный народный быт и дух становятся этнографической диковиной и быстро уходят в небытие. Дерево – самый натуральный, естественный материал для строительства в человеческой культуре – сознательно или бессознательно возвращается природе, ее изначальному хаосу. Деревянный дом – часть исчезающего мира, практически ушедшего в забвение, оставившего после себя артефакты, секреты и сокровища, не нужные практически никому.
Идея проекта – из специально собранных материалов, в том числе из подлинных фрагментов старых домов, разрушенных или заброшенных, создать в музейном пространстве деревянное сооружение – символ всех деревянных строений и их связей с реальным миром. Для кого-то деревянная постройка – памятник архитектуры, для кого-то исторический артефакт, кто-то в ней видит пример гармонии и мастерства, а кого-то притягивает созерцание смиренного процесса ветшания и распада, того, что в Японии называют “ваби-саби”.


Материалы для создания дома были собраны нами в Нижегородской области – в деревнях Чудь, Мартюшиха, Монаково, Истомино и Могилицы, а так же в городе Нижний Новгород. При строительстве дома для нас было важно сохранить природную структуру старой стены, выкладывая доски таким образом, чтобы цвет и фактура поверхностей совпадали и дополняли друг-друга.
Вы можете посетить выставку до 10 Августа в Музее Москвы (Зубовский бульвар д.2)

Мы хотим поблагодорить всех, кто помог нам в осуществлении этого проекта: куратора IV Московской биеннале молодого искусства – Девида Эллиота, генерального директора ГЦСИ – Михалиа Мидлина, директора приволжского филиала ГЦСИ – Анну Марковну Гор, Наталью Герасину, Ольгу Ладутенко, Николая Молока, Александра Курицина, Олесю Гриценко, Марию Молянову, Сашу и Назара, а так же Дмитрия Баранова и Фаину Юнусову.