Toothwort

123

Poster "Toothwort"

one color drypint estampe
paper Canson Edition Bright White 250 g/m2
263x365 mm

5 copies

 

Sold out!

Poisonous toothwort is parasitising on trees' roots first secretly staying under the soil up to ten years, feeding on it's host, till it's scaled pink-white leaves and flowers with out any chlorophyll would show themselves above the ground.

The rootstock of toothwort grows in different directions, managing into cross-like joints. In English the plant is called toothwort for it's likeness to growing teeth from the ground. In Russia it's called Peter's cross because of the form of the rootstock, that resembles the upside down cross, on which the Saint Peter was crucified. Peter refused to die like the Christ did, asked to crucify himself upside down because of being reproachful of his sins.
IMG_4645

The poster is printed in estampe technique, using the method of dry point – cut out drawing on zinc plate is printed on wet paper using etching press. In Nizhny Novgorod right now we've got only one etching press to use that is located in Mobile design kids school, who's director Alexander Kazarin gave me a chance to make my first work using this old and hard technique.

555(click to enlarge)

Each poster is nubmered, signed up and packed in cardboard tube.

Петров крест

123

Постер "Петров крест"

эстамп, сухая игла, один цвет
бумага Canson Edition Bright White 250 г/м2
263x365 мм

5 копий

 

Постер распродан!

Ядовитый, паразитирующий на корнях деревьев, петров крест может вплоть до десяти лет находиться под землей, питаясь растением-"хозяином", прежде чем его чешуйчатые листья и соцветия, бело-розовые из-за отсутствия хлорофилла, покажутся над землей.

Корневище петрова креста растет в разные стороны, образуя крестовидные соединения из чешуйчатых корней. На английском растение называют "toothwort", сравнивая его с зубами, прорастающими из земли. В России петров крест получил свое имя благодаря форме своего корня, напоминавшего перевернутый крест, на котором апостол Пётр был распят. Считая себя недостойным такой смерти, какую принял Христос, Пётр был распят вниз головой.
IMG_4645

Постер выполнен в технике эстамп, методом сухой иглы: с помощью вырезанного рисунка на цинковой пластине делается оттиск на влажной бумаге на офортном станке. В Нижнем Новгороде на данный момент есть только одно место с доступным офортным станком — Детская школа дизайна, чей руководитель — Александр Казарин дал мне возможность сделать свою первую работу в этой старинной и сложной технике.

555(для увеличения - нажмите)

Каждый постер пронумерован, подписан на лицевой стороне и упакован в картонный тубус.